Pricing

What does construction software actually cost a UK contractor?

17 min read

The short answer

There is no single figure, because the bill is assembled rather than chosen. A ten-person UK contractor is normally buying from five separate categories: job management, estimating, clocking in and timesheets, HR and holiday, and site safety. On list prices read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026, the same firm can be paying under a hundred pounds a month or over eight hundred, depending on which vendor it happened to land on in each category and in what order. Two of the five categories have a free option that covers a firm of ten. Several vendors publish no price at all. And a headline quoted per employee is almost never the price, because base fees, banded minimums, seat floors and fixed terms of up to seven years sit underneath it.

At a glance

Prices read
15 September 2026
Source
Each vendor’s own UK pricing page
Categories
HR, clocking in, job management, estimating, safety
Free at ten people
SafetyCulture, PriceMyJob
No price published
Bizimply, Commusoft, Simpro, Buildsoft
Longest published term
Citation, seven years
Billing units in use
Per employee, per company, per job volume, per licence
Currencies encountered
Sterling, US dollars, dollar figures shown with a euro symbol

What is a contractor actually buying?

Five categories cover most of the software spend in a firm under about twenty people. Each one arrives on its own, for its own good reason, usually after something went wrong.

  • Job management. The customer, the quote, the job, the diary and the invoice. Usually the first thing bought and the biggest single line.
  • Estimating. A price book, labour rates and a way of turning a take-off into a quote. Often one or two people rather than the whole firm.
  • Clocking in and timesheets. Who was on site, for how long, and how the hours reach payroll.
  • HR and holiday. Staff records, holiday requests, absence, documents against a person.
  • Site safety. RAMS, inductions, toolbox talks, the accident book and certification expiry.

Nobody buys all five on one afternoon. The job management system comes first because the paper diary failed. The clocking app comes eighteen months later because a timesheet was invented. The RAMS subscription comes the week a principal contractor asked for one. Each purchase is sound on the day it is made.

No one decides the total. Five people decide five line items, and the total is whatever those five add up to.

What does HR and holiday software cost?

This is the category where the billing unit matters most, because two of the vendors charge a flat company total and the rest charge per head. At ten people, the cheapest of them costs less in a year than the dearest costs in a month, and they are not all selling the same thing.

VendorHow it is billedA firm of ten
Breathe HRPer company, banded by headcount£24 a month on the Micro band, which runs 1 to 10 people, ex VAT
myhrtoolkitPer company, banded, rolling monthly£37.50 a month on the 6 to 10 band, ex VAT
Sage HRPer employee, per moduleCore HR and Leave is £4.60 per employee a month ex VAT, so £46.00
Access PeopleHRPer employee, tiered by feature setFrom £3.00 per employee a month on Starter, so about £30 by arithmetic. No worked example and no VAT basis published
BrightHRPer employee, on a fixed term of 24, 36 or 60 monthsNot published. The page shows from £16.67 per employee a month, with £83.35 a month exc. tax beside it on a basis of five employees
CitationPer employee, quoted over a seven-year termHR and Health & Safety together is £30.00 per employee a month on the 6 to 10 band, so £300.00. VAT basis not stated

Read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026.

Two things about that BrightHR row. The £83.35 is a company total on a basis of five employees, not a rate per head, so it is not a ten-person price. And BrightHR’s own FAQ on the same page says prices start from £3.00 per person depending on business size, so multiplying the £16.67 headline by ten would overstate what they charge. Their real ten-person rate sits somewhere between those two and they do not publish where.

NoteBanded pricing is cheap in the middle of a band and expensive at the top of one. Breathe’s Micro band runs to ten people. The eleventh hire moves the firm to Starter at £44 a month, an 83% rise for one person.

The band also buys core HR only. Breathe sells Rota, Time and Attendance as an add-on from £11 a month per business and Health and Safety from £12 a month per business, both on top. Sage HR works the same way: Timesheets and Shift Scheduling are £2.30 per employee a month each, which takes a ten-person firm from £46.00 to £92.00.

What does clocking in and timesheets cost?

The cheapest category on the list, and the one where the headline rate is least likely to be the bill. Three of these six carry either a company base fee on top of the per-head rate or a minimum number of people you are charged for whether you have them or not.

VendorHow it is billedA firm of ten
PlandayPer user, five-person minimum on Starter£29.90 a month on Starter at £2.99 per user. Plus is £3.99 per user plus a £30.00 a month fee, so £69.90. VAT not stated
TimeKeeperPer employee per month£40.00 a month on Core at £4.00 per employee, ex VAT, on monthly billing
QuickBooks TimeCompany base fee plus per user£76.00 a month on Premium: a £16 base fee per month plus £6 per user a month, ex VAT
ClockifyPer seat, no sterling price publishedFree for up to five people. Paid from 3.99 per seat a month on annual billing, shown to a UK visitor with a euro symbol against a dollar figure
ClockSharkCompany base fee plus per user, invoiced in US dollarsUS$137.00 a month on Standard: a US$42 base plus US$9.50 per user. No sterling price published
BizimplyQuote onlyNo price of any kind published

Read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026.

TimeKeeper’s page defaults to the annual toggle, so the first figure a visitor sees is £3.33 rather than £4.00. On annual billing a firm of ten is invoiced £400 a year, which is the vendor’s own per-employee-per-year figure rather than the rounded monthly rate times twelve.

NoteClockShark and Clockify both bill UK customers in a currency that is not sterling, so the invoice moves with the exchange rate even when the list price does not. ClockShark’s pricing page also states that a three-year contract term applies to all plans.

What does job management software cost?

The biggest line, and the widest spread. One vendor charges by the number of jobs a month and ignores headcount entirely. The rest charge per person who needs a login.

VendorHow it is billedA firm of ten
ServiceM8Per account, banded by jobs a month£59 a month on Growing, 150 jobs, or £119 a month on Premium, 500 jobs, for the whole company, ex VAT
Powered NowPer user above the single-person plan£320 a month on Professional at £32 per user, ex VAT. Premium is £400
TradifyPer user£340 a month on Lite, £370 on Pro, £440 on Plus, at £34 per user on the cheapest. VAT not stated
JoblogicPer user, billed annually£450 a month on Standard at £45 per user. Premium and Enterprise are quoted
CommusoftQuote onlyNo price published. The vendor states the platform is for businesses with six or more staff
SimproQuote onlyNo price published, and a separate one-off setup fee on top of the subscription

Read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026.

ServiceM8 charges by jobs a month. Tradify, Powered Now and Joblogic charge by heads. At ten people that is a gap of several hundred pounds a month for software covering roughly the same ground.

Powered Now’s ladder has a step in it that catches people out. Business at £28 a month ex VAT is a company price for one person only. The second person moves the firm onto Professional, which is charged per user, so the bill goes from £28 a month to £64 for the second hire and keeps climbing from there.

What does estimating software cost?

The category where the unit of sale moves most. One vendor sells a seat, one sells a named licence, one sells a book, and one gives it away.

VendorHow it is billedWhat it costs
PriceMyJobFree, meteredNothing. The site states £0, no sign-up, and ten free estimates a month
Spon’s Architects’ and Builders’ Price Book 2026One-off purchase per copy£185.00 list, inc VAT, bought again each year as the rates go stale
Bluebeam RevuPer user, billed annuallyBasics £264 per user a year and Core £330 per user a year, both carrying Bluebeam’s own tax-inclusive footnote
Price A JobPer user, per moduleEstimating is £35.95 a month per user ex VAT, or £299.95 a year per user. The All Included bundle is £89.75 a month per user
HBXL EstimatorXpressPer named licenceEssential is £899 per licence a year ex VAT on subscription, or £1,599 ex VAT outright with support and updates at £359 a year after the first twelve months
Buildsoft CubitQuote onlyNo UK price published

Read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026.

Most firms of ten do not buy ten estimating seats. One or two people price work, so this line is usually one or two licences however the vendor bills. Two HBXL licences on subscription is £899 plus £249 for the additional licence, about £96 a month when spread across the year.

NoteHBXL’s £29.99 a month Support and Updates plan is the figure most often misread as the price of the software. It buys support for a perpetual licence already owned and buys no licence at all.

What does site safety and RAMS software cost?

The category with the largest free option in the whole survey sitting next to some of the highest list prices in it.

VendorHow it is billedA firm of ten
SafetyCulture, trading as MittiPer seat, with a free tierFree. Ten people sit inside the free tier’s cap of ten team members. The first paid tier is US$29 per seat a month and no sterling list price is published
Evalu-8 EHSPer licence, minimum ten licencesCore platform is £2.50 per licence a month over a minimum of ten, so £25 a month, plus an unpublished set-up fee. RAMS, COSHH and audit modules are quoted separately. VAT not stated
swiftRMSPer company, banded by team size£149 a month, or £1,490 a year, on Business, which covers teams up to ten people. VAT not stated
Site Manager ProPer company, banded by site operatives£245 a month ex VAT on Micro Contractor, up to 25 operatives. The next band, up to 50 operatives, is £495 a month
HandsHQPer company, banded by user capFrom £275 a month for up to ten people, billed annually plus a set-up fee HandsHQ does not publish. VAT position not stated

Read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026.

HandsHQ also sells individual plans, and on those the binding constraint is documents rather than people. Basic is £44 a month ex VAT, £52.80 including VAT, and produces one RAMS a month. A second RAMS in the same month means moving up to £99 a month. The individual ladder tops out at three people, so a firm of ten cannot buy one at all and falls to the team band.

The free SafetyCulture tier is real and it caps at ten team members, five active templates and three years of history. For a ten-person firm doing inspections and audits, that is a working product at no cost. It is not a RAMS system with versioned documents and per-operative sign-off, so it does not answer the thing a principal contractor asks for.

Why is a per-employee headline not a price?

Because six different mechanisms sit between the rate on the page and the figure on the invoice, and most pages show one of them.

  1. 01A company base fee. QuickBooks Time adds £16 a month before the first per-user charge. ClockShark adds US$42. A one-person account is the base plus the seat, not the seat.
  2. 02A seat floor. Planday’s Starter has a five-person minimum, so the smallest bill is £14.95 a month however few people you have.
  3. 03A band. Breathe, myhrtoolkit, swiftRMS, Site Manager Pro and HandsHQ all charge a flat company total for a range of headcount. You pay the same at the bottom of a band as at the top, and a single hire can move you up a rung.
  4. 04A rate that falls with headcount. BrightHR’s headline is £16.67 per employee a month and its own FAQ says prices start from £3.00 per person depending on size. Multiplying the headline overstates the bill.
  5. 05A currency that is not sterling. Clockify and ClockShark both bill UK customers in dollars, so the invoice moves with the exchange rate.
  6. 06A default toggle. TimeKeeper’s page opens on annual billing, so the first number shown is the annual-equivalent rate rather than what monthly billing costs.

And then there is the term, which is the part a comparison table almost never carries.

VendorPublished commitment
CitationRates based on a seven-year term. Three to five-year terms are available and are not priced on the page
BrightHR24, 36 or 60 months, with 36 months the option sold online. No rolling monthly
ClockSharkThe pricing page states a three-year term applies to all plans
JoblogicStandard is billed annually. No monthly-billed rate is published
HandsHQTeam plans are billed annually plus a set-up fee, so a year is committed up front
myhrtoolkitRolling monthly, no minimum term

Read from each vendor’s own UK pricing page on 15 September 2026.

The rate is what you compare. The term is what you sign. A firm halfway through a five-year HR contract cannot move on price.

How does a ten-person firm end up paying what it pays?

By making five reasonable decisions eighteen months apart. Here is a stack a real firm of ten could easily be carrying, with every figure taken from the tables above.

What it replacedToolPer month
The paper diaryTradify Pro, ten people£370 a month
The RAMS folderHandsHQ team band, up to ten peopleFrom £275 a month
The paper timesheetTimeKeeper Core, monthly billing£40 a month
The holiday spreadsheetBreathe Micro plus the Health and Safety add-on£36 a month
The estimating spreadsheetHBXL EstimatorXpress Essential, one licenceAbout £75 a month, from £899 a year

Arithmetic on list prices read on 15 September 2026. The VAT bases differ between rows, so the total is not on one VAT basis.

That is about £796 a month, or roughly £9,550 a year, for a firm turning over perhaps a million. Nobody approved that number. Five people approved five numbers, none of which looked unreasonable on the day, and four of those five decisions were made by somebody who did not know what the other three cost.

Free toolSoftware spend calculatorThe stack above as a worksheet: tick the five rows you pay for, type your own figures, and see the total beside the Estimark plan priced for your office and field people.

The same firm, buying differently, could be on ServiceM8 Growing at £59 a month, Breathe Micro at £24 a month, the free SafetyCulture tier and PriceMyJob, for about £83 a month all in. That firm is not better at buying software. It has bought less of it, and it is missing things the first firm needs: versioned RAMS with per-operative sign-off, CIS deducted on labour only across the 6th-to-5th tax months, Construction Act payment applications with their notice deadlines, and job costing against certified value.

The question is not which stack is cheaper. It is which line items you are paying for twice, and which ones you are not paying for at all.

Three overlaps are worth checking on your own bank statement. Holiday booking is usually in both the HR system and the job management system. Timesheets are usually in both the clocking app and the job management system. And inductions, toolbox talks and certification expiry are often in the HR system, the safety system and a spreadsheet at the same time.

What does consolidating not save?

Software replaces software. Several of the lines above are not software at all, and moving the software half does not move them.

  • The employment law advice line. BrightHR’s Enhanced tier and Citation’s entire product are a staffed service with people on the end of a phone. Keep it and drop only the overlap.
  • Tribunal and employment indemnity insurance. Sold alongside the advice line, quoted separately, and not something a software subscription contains.
  • A maintained library of HR policies and letters. Breathe and BrightHR both keep one current with UK employment law.
  • A library of professionally reviewed risk assessments. HandsHQ’s real product is thousands of curated method statements and hazard libraries maintained by safety professionals.
  • Measured-work rates coded to NRM or SMM. Spon’s and Laxton’s are what a QS needs on a formal tender, and at the price of a book a year nobody is trying to save that line.
  • Site-access hardware. Turnstiles, biometrics and badge readers on a tier-one site are a different purchase from a QR code on a poster.
  • Telematics. Live vehicle tracking, driver behaviour and route optimisation are a separate product from a vehicle record.

Work out which of those you are actually buying before comparing a per-head rate against a per-head rate. A contractor on a Citation contract is buying advice and cover, and the software is the part they use least.

What does Estimark cost, and what does it not cover?

Solo is £39 a month +VAT for up to 2 users and 20 open jobs. Core is £129 a month +VAT for up to 5 users, with office seats at £39 a month +VAT and field seats at £29 a month +VAT beyond that. Pro is £299 a month +VAT for up to 20 users, with seats at £49 a month +VAT and £29 a month +VAT. Enterprise is quoted. There is a 14-day trial. All prices exclude VAT, added at 20% at checkout.

The categories above map onto modules rather than onto separate subscriptions. Health & Safety is £19 a month +VAT on its own and bundled from Solo upward, and it holds versioned RAMS with per-operative sign-off, site inductions, toolbox talks with a signed attendance register, near-miss reports and the accident book. Timesheets is £15 a month +VAT, bundled from Solo upward, and the hours land on the job rather than in a CSV. HR Management is £29 a month +VAT, bundled from Pro upward, and Training & Qualifications is £12 a month +VAT, bundled from Pro upward. Job Costing is £25 a month +VAT, bundled from Core upward. CIS Compliance is £19 a month +VAT, bundled from Solo upward.

Quoting, invoicing and the job record are on every plan, so the job management line and the estimating line are the same subscription rather than two.

Now the limits, because a firm consolidating onto one system needs them before it cancels anything.

  • Estimark holds no security or safety certification: no ISO 27001, no SOC 2, no Cyber Essentials, and it is not SSIP, CHAS, SafeContractor or SMAS assessed. Using it does not accredit you. It holds the evidence an assessor asks for.
  • It does not file a CIS300 to HMRC on your behalf. It records the return with both statutory declarations and locks it to its tax month.
  • Your customers cannot pay by card or Direct Debit through Estimark. Invoices carry your bank details and are settled by bank transfer.
  • It does not file RIDDOR. It classifies the duty, works out the statutory deadline from the date of the accident and chases it. The F2508 is still submitted by a person on hse.gov.uk.
  • It does not run payroll or file RTI. It exports payroll files for your payroll system or bureau, including a P32 and an RTI-layout CSV, and those exports are labelled as estimates rather than filed returns.
  • There is no employment law advice line, no indemnity insurance and no library of reviewed risk assessments. Safety content generated in Estimark has to be checked by a competent person before it is issued.
  • The price book is built from merchant product prices and your own invoice history, not from NRM or SMM measured-work rates, and it produces no standard-form bill of quantities.

See Estimark pricing for the full ladder, job costing and CVR for the cost side, and Estimark for builders and contractors.

Questions

Frequently asked

How much should a ten-person contractor expect to pay for software?

On list prices read on 15 September 2026, anywhere from under a hundred pounds a month to over eight hundred, for much the same set of jobs. The spread comes from the billing unit rather than the feature list: a vendor charging a flat company total costs a fraction of one charging per head at the same headcount, and two of the five categories have a free option that covers a firm of ten.

Why do some vendors not publish a price?

Bizimply, Commusoft, Simpro and Buildsoft publish no figure of any kind, and BrightHR publishes one that stops short of ten people. Aggregator and review sites fill those gaps with numbers the vendors do not print, and several of those are years out of date. Ask the vendor, and ask for the contract term in the same email.

Is free safety software good enough for a small contractor?

It depends what you are being asked for. SafetyCulture’s free tier covers up to ten team members and is a working inspection and audit product at no cost. It is not a RAMS system with versioned documents and a signature against the version each operative was shown, so a firm that has been asked for job-specific RAMS by a principal contractor needs something else.

Does putting everything on one system always work out cheaper?

No. It works out cheaper when you were paying twice for the same thing, which for most firms means holiday booking, timesheets and certification expiry. It does not work out cheaper when part of what you are paying for is a person: an employment law advice line, tribunal indemnity cover, or a maintained library of reviewed risk assessments. Those are a service, and no software subscription replaces them.

What should I check before signing a software contract?

The term, first. Citation’s published rates are based on a seven-year term, BrightHR sells on 24, 36 or 60 months, and ClockShark’s pricing page states a three-year term on all plans. Then the billing unit: whether there is a company base fee, a minimum number of people you are charged for, or a band your next hire pushes you out of. Then the currency, because two of the vendors above invoice UK customers in dollars.

Build on a solid foundation.

Run the whole business without an implementation project and without legacy baggage. Every plan starts with 14 days free.

Estimating · Jobs · Invoicing · CIS · H&S · Reactive maintenance